Warwickshire vs Somerset at Leamington and County Golf Club

The Leamington and County course looked inviting as most of the participants for the match gathered prior to lunch. Unfortunately an accident on the M5 had closed the road and four of the Somerset team were held up. Two of those travelling up from Somerset managed to get off the motorway before the tailback but the Captain and his travelling companion were stationary – waiting for the road to be reopened. Lunch was served so while those present enjoyed their bacon rolls a swift rearrangement of the batting order took place and contingencies were discussed in case the Captain should not arrive in time. Fortunately we heard that the delayed car was moving again before the golf began and the contingencies were discarded. All players were able to tee off in the amended starting order with no delays. Note that the photos below are displayed in the order on the start sheet rather than the altered order of play.

The games took place in hot sunshine with a gentle breeze – ideal golfing conditions. As the results came in the overall match seemed to swing one way and then the other but the final result was 4-4. Both visitors and Warwickshire members enjoyed the course, the company and the meal afterwards

As Warwickshire had won the match in 2022 they retained the trophy so Somerset Captain David Bate handed it back to Warwickshire Captain Keith Guild



Game 1 : Somerset Captain David Bate, Warwickshire Captain Keith Guild, Mark Tidcombe and Leamington and County Captain Adrian Hawley.



Game 2 : Keith Lindsay, Rob Hirons, Colin Davies and Warwickshire President Nigel Metcalfe



Game 3 : Ian Suttle, Mike Rossiter, Ian Phipps and Rob Yewer



Game 4 : Geoff Rook and Jim Scott flank David Chamley and Rod Williams



Game 5 : Graham Barker and Martin Wyatt took on Maddie Casson and Rob Ford



Game 6 : Nick Prince and Phil Barrett either side of John Savage and John Grant



Game 7 : Pat Murphy and Rod Saywell interspersed with Glyn Sewell and Tony Taylor



Game 8 : Allan Moore, Ian Gover, Tony Ranger and Steve Butterfield

